Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

For Glasgow

Went into Glasgow this afternoon to meet friends for lunch. When we left the restaurant afterwards we saw and heard police cars and ambulances with lots of blue lights and sirens. At that time we weren't aware of the scale of the tragedy that had occurred about 30 minutes earlier and about half-a-mile away.

I walked down Buchanan Street looking for something to photograph for my daily blip and settled for a few shots of Christmas lights in the rain and pictures of the Gallery of Modern Art (GoMA) underneath the curtain of lights around Royal Exchange Square.

Job done, I walked to Buchanan Bus Station to catch a bus home and, while I was waiting for my bus, checked Twitter and BBC News for an update on the cause of all the earlier commotion.
Could barely believe what I was reading.

Posting my GoMA photographs, or indeed any photos from Glasgow today, would be wholly inappropriate so settled for a picture of a candle lit when I returned home in memory of those who lost their lives, those who grieve or are injured and those in the emergency and voluntary services working to support them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.