Mono Festive Tree

I had a very busy but enjoyable day yesterday helping out with the photography at a wedding; it was many hours of hard work.  The setting was wonderful - in the buildings and grounds of Fulham Palace in London.  When it was time to leave I couldn't find the car key - Found that eventually, then it was a lens cap - found that - and then it was my laptop - Couldn't find that!!!  I hadn't used it at all during the day so wasn't 100%sure that it had been with me at all!

We looked everywhere we had been in the Palace but no joy.  I concluded that I must have left it back in Julia's car which was parked in Hugh Wycombe so we headed back down the M40 - me a bit anxious by now.  

Got to J's car but NO LAPTOP.  Perhaps I had been a complete donkey and left it at home.  Drove home - NO LAPTOP.  Depression sets in!!

It wasn't the laptop that particularly bothered me, although that was bad enough - it was the thought that also in the bag was my portable hard drive with pretty much all my images from this year on it.  How could I have been so stupid to have the laptop AND the hard drive in the SAME BAG!!!!  Lose one lose everything.

I spent a very anxious and sleepless night thinking about the impact of all this and how I would learn my lesson about backups.  To cut a long story short, I phoned Fulham Palace and they had found my laptop bag - much cheering and relief from me!  

My husband works in London so it was relatively straight forward for him to go to the venue and reclaim my possessions.  So a stressful few hours but 'All's Well that Ends Well' and I am now able to load my blip and complete my journal.

Learn from my stupidity!  Do Not travel with all your eggs in the same basket - you might break all your eggs!  

A more cheerful day today decorating the Christmas tree and starting to prepare the dining room for Christmas.  

Henry the cat has been in the vets today to have some teeth out.  We have been told to keep him in overnight but he is literally climbing the door in his enthusiasm to go outside.  I have explained the reason but he just doesn't get it!

Now for a glass of wine I think!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.