Rain, darkness and lights = blur

This week the challenge word given us by blast is blur.

I've toyed with a couple of other ideas earlier and dismissed them. Today, I had not a lot of choice, really.

I stayed overnight in Wellington. Committee meeting yesterday and Council today, means a night in a hotel and then an early run in Wellington. At the start of my run it was not raining, and then within 10 minutes the rain started and steadily drenched me throughout the rest of my run. Along Oriental Parade on the way out and into the wind and rain the only picture I took was interesting.

At the turn, I saw a plane coming in to land and it emerged from clouds fairly low with all lights blazing. Hands shook more than I expected and rather than a blur it was jagged lines of light.

On the way back, the rain was on my back, I paused for long enough to steady the hands, and used the near and bright street lamp as a light reference to get a fast shutter speed. Most of the blur in this picture is due to the effects of the rain.

This appeals as an interesting and colourful response to the challenge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.