A Christmas Stocking for Mini Bunzini

Happy Christmas to everyone! And on Earth, peace and goodwill toward all creatures!

And suddenly, Christmas Eve was upon us! The cards were sent, the cookies were made, the gifts were wrapped. And it was time to do all of the fun holiday things, like visiting family and going to church to sing some of our favorite hymns. And then to go back to my parents' house to listen to my father, age 84, read 'Twas the Night Before Christmas once more. ("The way you do it is like magic, Pappy," said my father's only granddaughter, age 9.)

But before we left, we had one more gift to arrange: my husband loaded up a stocking for Mini Bunzini, chock full of carrots, broccoli, and asparagus. It was foggy and rainy out as he dropped the gift off under the azalea hedge for Mini-B and friends to enjoy. Not a creature was stirring, not even a vole.

So then we made our travels, and we visited loved ones, and we attended church and sang Silent Night together by candle light, as we always do. And despite the weather, which was something less than festive, we had a lovely time.

And then my father read us 'Twas the Night Before Christmas, as he does each year - sometimes with help from my mom. And my little niece recorded it for posterity on her iPod, which is something none of us adults had ever thought to do.

My husband and I got home in time to watch the last hour of It's a Wonderful Life, which is the very best part, as we all know. And we cried at the end, as we always do, and wished each other a Merry Christmas, and went to bed.

When we got up on Christmas morning, my husband checked the status of the goodies under the azalea hedge. And what did he find? Mini Bunzini happily chomping away at the very last piece of broccoli! So we know that our gifts were well received, and enjoyed thoroughly.

The song to accompany this image is the Christmas classic, 'Twas the Night Before Christmas, sung by Rosemary Clooney and Gene Autry.  It isn't probably quite as good as hearing my father read it, but I think you'll enjoy it anyway. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.