And Peace to All Creatures on Earth

It was the Christmas eve celebration we almost didn't make it to.

The snow squalls started in the morning, while I was baking seventy bazillion chocolate chip cookies. (OK, so maybe I exaggerate - it may have been just sixty-nine bazillion cookies - I lost track . . . )

And then the snow came down thick and fast, and I started to worry. My family was expecting us for Christmas eve. There would be supper at my parents' house, a candlelight service at my home church, and then my parents' traditional reading of 'Twas the Night Before Christmas.

I watched the snow between batches of cookies. I wrote my family a quick e-mail. I told them about the snow, told them that the chances were iffy that we would make it: fifty-fifty, I thought. I baked cookies. I worried and fretted.

But in the afternoon, the sun came out. There were a few more squalls, but we decided to go for it. We were running a bit later than I had hoped. But by about 2:30 pm, we were showered and dressed and packed into the car for the hour and a half drive to visit my family.

We were making good time, but then we saw the sign: Traffic Accident Ahead. Expect Delays. We heaved heavy sighs. We fretted. As we grew closer, we saw a tractor trailer that was in bad shape. It looked like it had flipped off the road in one of the earlier squalls and rolled. It was being loaded onto a flatbed truck. If we'd been traveling a bit earlier, well, we don't even want to think about that . . .

The rest of our drive was without incident. Well, it was beyond that: the sky show was spectacular. Gray snow clouds for the squalls. Bright blue sky behind them. White puffy clouds like angels dancing. Shadows through the trees. Light on the river. Enchantment for the eyes and soul. Has the world ever been any more beautiful than it is right at this moment?

We were the first ones to arrive, and my parents were delighted to see us. Others began to arrive. They ate cookies. We all ate ham. And then we dressed for the Christmas eve service. My husband and I rode in the car with my parents; as we have done since I was a child, we pressed our noses to the cold, cold windows and looked out at all the pretty lights. Above us, a star show in the night sky.

At the church, all was toasty-warm. We filed in, my family filling up three pews! I sat beside my mother, lit my candle from hers, sang loudly and with great gusto: It Came Upon the Midnight Clear, Angels We Have Heard on High, What Child Is This, The First Noel, Silent Night, and then a thumping rendition of Joy to the World, a song that always makes me want to dance! But instead I tap my feet. Loudly. (And heaven and nature sing! *thump thump* And heaven and nature sing! *thump thump*)

And then out into the cold, cold night. Into the car. Back to my parents' house for the traditional reading of the story, a favorite of all of us kids (all of us kids of ALL ages). My parents, age 83, happily married these past 63 years plus. My mom sitting on my father's lap in the rocking chair, my dad stealing hugs when he turned the page for her, my mother straight-faced, my dad acting the story out complete with silly looks and hand gestures to set the kids laughing. And then done. "Happy Christmas to all, and to all a good night!"

And off we go into the night. Home, home, home, so we can get up tomorrow and come back and visit again. So many blessings, such a full heart. My family all around me - these are my treasures, my friends, my treasures here on Earth.

The soundtrack: a favorite song from my college days, John Michael Talbot, with Wonderful Counselor.

So let us beat all our swords into plowshares
And let the wolf come be the guest of the Lamb
And let the song of all the world's nations be peaceful
Worship the child come to the world in Bethlehem


P.S. Merry Christmas, friends. Glory to God in the highest! And peace to all creatures on Earth . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.