madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

am

Stunning clouds over the allotment this am as I went to meet fellow cooper for the christmas morning opening of the coop. After treats and a clean of the coop for the girls, she and I toasted the morning with Prosecco!  She also related an article she had read about the Christ story having its origins in over 17 other stories about virgin births, son of God and 3 days of festivities - all of which pertained to the solstice and the return of the "sun". Once she had gone to open presents with her by now quietly impatient and cold daughter, I happily took photos and pulled up one of the Brussels sprouts plants for lunch and meandered home!
I blame the prosecco for 1) forgetting to pull up a cabbage and pick herbs so going up to the allotment again - but this time with sister so she had a little fresh air after days inside nursing her cold and sinus headache 2) the Yorkshire puddings that turned into cakes because I used self raising flour 3) the potatoes which I left to my sister to shake in the pan prior to roasting which could have broken teeth when biting into then required chewing like toffees 4) nearly caramelizing the slow cooked cabbage with lemon 5) the apricot and chestnut stuffing that turned into crumble!! But it all tasted damn fine and a Turkey somewhere lived another day!
My sister and I slowly exchanged gifts over the course of the day with exclamations of "Time for a present?" Still a few more to go! My sister bought me a needle felting set which I can use with my natural  dyed wool from the course in November. Expect miniature chickens sometime soon!
More stupendous clouds and colours on the allotment when I went to put the girls to bed. A perfect, mellow day! Time to open another present!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.