madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Fireflower

What else to do on a grey, wet day than to muck around with a fire! 

Overslept so late chicken opening in the rain - but the mist looked lovely as it lay in the hollows of the valley and gradually dispersed into the air. The girls all hid under the shelter of the corrugated panel and looked up at me as if to say "Turn the rain off now please!" If only I could have!
Lunch at neighbours, lovely food but damn her house is cold - so lit a fire and went to close the girls! All looking bedraggled and as they greedily pecked the corn I threw under the shelter of the panel, I played mud pies filling in the rat holes! The surface of their plot soon turns to slurry in the rain and there is nothing quite as nice as scraping it off the surface with the edge of ones boots! 
Once home played around with the fire and dried hydrangea flowers from friends garden!  I love making and tending a fire! Get it from my mother who was quite the pyromaniac! Bonfires, campfires, beach fires, incinerator on the allotment, wood burners or an open fire - I am happy with all! Throw in chestnuts, marshmallows, bananas stuffed with chocolate and wrapped in foil - mmm! Whats not to like!
One or  two more!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.