weewilkie

By weewilkie

the generation game

My daughter got a polaroid camera for xmas. Suddenly digital has given way to the old prints we had way back when.. Here are some of the snaps that she took at her Granny and Granda's place down in Port Glasgow. It's like a time machine. It could be polaroids taken of myself and brother and sister in the 70s, the effect is so authentic.

My Mum, her Granny, has been going through a really difficult time this year. My daughter has struggled in her own way. Yet she knew and made the effort to paint a glass storage jar with pretty flowers and fill them with 365 little comments about how she loves her Granny. It was a fine emotional moment in the house and I love the emotional intelligence my girl has.
I love that she has developed this special relationship with my Mum. I had a special relationship with my Granny too (my Mum's Mum). I lived with her for a time and cared for her and took her places and she shouted at me, shouted for me and told me how special I was to her. We had a special bond. Much like my daughter and her Granny exhibited today when they hugged and cried and hugged some more.

I am so proud of her. 

Advent 25

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.