... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

St. James's Park: Adorable Wigeon

More charming a face in large.

I've had a very good day seeing birdy-friends: I visited the Goosles in the morning (and there was a heron on Eagle Pond), and then went to St. James's Park this afternoon to see the microgeese cow geese Ross's geese and all the other waterfowl there. I struggled to choose my blip, but his charming little female wigeon was too characterful to ignore; my mother took oats and we became totally surrounded by the relatively tame birds (I even touched this wigeon and one of the microgeese).

I've uploaded others to Flickr:
Eagle Pond shots are right from Mrs. marching over
St. James's Park shots are right from Glorious goldeneye

Highlights:
Heron: posing, swooping over the pond, clearing the fence
Wide-eyed Goldeneye
Ross's geese: adorable little microgoose, calling, drinking
Handfeeding a bar-headed goose
Wigeons: cheeky face, handsome male
Nene (= Hawaiian goose) & barnacle geese

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.