For my Dad

Last Christmas, when my family and I went down to erect the cross at the site of the crash that killed my son, we talked about coming back to put a plaque on the cross.  My Dad said he would like to have the plate done for him.

Today I mounted it on the cross.  

In order to do that I had to stop at Mitre 10 in Oamaru yesterday and buy a cordless drill, drill bits, screws etc.  Then I had to charge the battery overnight.  Then I had to work out how to use it (never having actually used one  before.  In the end it all went smoothly and the cross now has a name plate.

Thank you Dad, it looks great.

NOTE:  When I screwed it on it looked perfectly straight but in this photo it doesn't.  The plate is actually above head height and looking at it from below it was fine but this will bug me and I may have to go back and check it, and straighten it if necessary.  

Before stopping at the cross I went on into Palmerston and bought a coffee.  I drink my coffee straight - no nonsense of sugar and milk for me.  When Blaze still lived at home he didn't drink tea or coffee; didn't like either.  But at some point after he left home he started drinking black coffee too.  So whenever I stop at his cross I take a coffee and metaphorically share it with him.

We have a drink and a cry and a laugh together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.