Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Searching for Excalibur

Boxing Day started with a late and lazy breakfast with friends in Edinburgh, with whom I had spent most of Christmas Day, followed by a journey home in varying thicknesses of motorway fog.

We hadn't managed a post-Christmas walk, so I felt a little stroll was needed in order to stretch the legs and get some fresh air into my lungs. The continuing fog made up my mind that I would settle for somewhere local so, after a cup of tea and a quick tidy-up around the house, I took a short drive over to The Kelpies.

Despite the freezing fog and mist, the Helix Park was busy with Boxing Day visitors and many of the younger ones were trying out their new bikes and scooters, while Santa hats were also very much in evidence. 

Took a few photos of the mist-clad Kelpies (as did several hundred other people, it seemed) and also some of the Helix wetlands from the boardwalk path. They looked rather eerie in the gloom and I somehow imagined that at any moment an arm might appear from beneath the lake holding King Arthur's sword. No such luck, otherwise that would have made for an interesting blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.