Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Winter Robin

The snow that fell yesterday evening is still with us, so 7yo and I enjoyed our first sledging expedition of the winter. There was an icy crust on top of the two inches of snow, which made for good distance from the modest undulations which we tackled.

Later, I went out again to enjoy the afternoon light and to play around with the new camera. There wasn't too much wildlife about, but I came across a pair of wrens and this robin near the edge of the moor. Shots like this are now much more within my range, this being taken from about thirty feet - about as close as I could get today. I might have cropped closer, but I wanted to retain the pockets of snow in the bracken behind as a marker of this wintry day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.