PJG844

By PJG844

Yachting Type

The day started sunny and chilly with very little wind and I decided that I wanted to treat myself to <gasp> new overalls. Well, why not, I have 2 pairs that alternate having various bovine and ovine excreta smeared all over them. And that's why I can't wipe my nose on my sleeve. Of course, given my past history, the place was closed. So. No Christmas pressies for me, then.

We strolled back to the car and I looked out over the marina (?) when I noticed this yacht and I immediately thought that if we ever had a boat (don't want a yacht. Had a bad experience doing capsize drill in a two man one. Except I was on my own. And it was in the Thames. Not nice) I'd have to name it something similar.

3M is fine on the ferries but does have a wee fear of water. When we drove to work we had to go through the Blackwall tunnel every day which runs under the Thames and it would stress 3M. So to calm her down I'd play something like 10:15 Saturday Night by The Cure, with its refrain of “drip, drip, drip” or Sing Song Swan by Can which starts with a minute of running water. Strangely enough, these didn't help. Maybe I should have tried Handel's Water Music. No matter. She also is not comfortable on small boats or things like canal barges so if we were to potter about on the sea all I'd hear would be “We're going to sink”, “why does it keep wobbling?” and “I like squirrels”. Therefore I can't see us getting one anytime in the future. Pity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.