mef13

By mef13

Pearl the Parrot

I've just spent the Christmas break with Pearl. And her family, Rob and Jo, of course.
It's Pearl who commands your attention from the moment you arrive, and if she takes to you, you become subject to a stream of non-stop chatter. Try to ignore it, or her, and the chatter gets louder and louder till you allow her the presence she is looking for
Got up early on Christmas morning, and again on Boxing Day morning. Nothing untoward about that but on Boxing Day I sat alone in the lounge with Pearl. I thought I'd get on with some post Christmas emails and catch up with Facebook posts from the rest of the family. Oh no! Pearl, though still in her cage wanted to join in too. At first it was only a murmur or two, then a good morning greeting - hello. Hello. HELLO.
Yes the volume increased until I deigned to reply.
And when Rob appeared, drew back the curtains and made a cup of tea, the chatter began to become incessant!
I remember my parents had a series of budgies, but they were nothing like this. Later, all evening Pearl was content to lie being cosseted by Rob or Jo as we all watched TV.
Oh yes, there is Kimba, the pet dog, but somehow Pearl is in command!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.