Birsingh Deo Palace, Datia, Madhya Pradesh

(A BACKblip, but I will use my original text anyway ... if you don't mind.  It was difficult uploading; WiFi in Gwalior was way too slow.)

This was unexpected! As usual, our driver had already thought of this detour the moment he received a copy of our itinerary and observed that I had planned it to stay loose and relaxed (instead of harried and crowded) and so had time for exactly the kind of detours he had in mind.

Another candidate for a Derelict Project.  Would you believe it was made to be occupied only once?  After that one visit by Jehangir (the dad of Shah Jehan of Taj Mahal fame), the entire property was neglected, even by its owner (yup, even after having spent that much on it) and eventually passed on to the government of India, who, of course, doesn't have enough funds to maintain all the palaces and forts all at once. 

We reached Gwalior this evening and my tummy is completely cured, so much so that I enjoyed an entire dinner for the first time in days.  Of course, every healing has a price, at least occasionally ... which means I now have a head cold and galloping nose.  Hahahaha! 

In Europe, today is the SECOND day of Christmas, so I hope all you European blippers are still living it up and cozily.  And for the rest -- we wish you a merry weekend! 

THANK YOU for dropping by yesterday!  Not much energy left to comment, though ... my nose is pushing me to go to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.