On a Winter's Day

It's been a gorgeous day, very blue and very cold and I've spent a Hareraising afternoon ankle deep in frozen puddles traversing a large stubble field at the back of the Model Flying Club where I saw Hares a couple of weeks ago and sure enough my prayers were answered and there were several heart-stopping moments.  Firstly I came almost eye to eye with a very large Brown Hare - I did have my camera all ready to go, but as soon as I raised it to my eye he/she was off in a flash.  I saw her/him several more times during the afternoon, and 
once lazing in the sun only  its big ears giving it away,   but always just too far to be able to get some decent shots. Never mind, I'll be back.

I also saw a beautiful Buzzard high up on a telegraph pole, plenty of sheep and this dear little Robin who flitted from tree to tree just so that I couldn't get up close to him!  

It's been a really lovely afternoon with lots of fresh air but so cold;  We've been home for over 3 hours and I'm only just thawing out, dinner to cook and then we'll be looking forward to the return of 'Last Tango in Halifax' later on.

Work tomorrow, ugh.

PS:  I have to apologise to three people as I've changed my picture three times and had instant comments!!!  I hate the fact that you can't preview your picture and write up before publishing, so I took a short cut and posted a picture without any caption or text and then deleted??  Bring back the preview button, please!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.