The second half of life..

By twigs

Rawiri & Wi

Usual start to the day and was 'on the road' a bit after 10.00am.  Another stunning morning very worthy of a bit of reading and a beach walk.

The plan to hit Tokomaru was not a big plan, it being only 35kms up the road!  I didn't however anticipate the pull of the place on me.  It's been a fabulous beginning with meeting wee Rawiri at the Toko 4-Square.  He was fascinated by my camper van so I invited him to have a look around.  He climbed in [still eating his steak mince pie] then asked question upon question about it.  What does this do?  What's that for?  What's this?  Can you sleep up there?  And such great manners!  What a fabulous wee guy.

After about 10 minutes I called over to the guy he said was his dad to let him know that he was in my van.  He said he thought it was a bit quiet but no worries.  This really is a very relaxed and friendly place, quite different to being in many other places I imagine.  After a couple more minutes dad came over too.  By this stage Rawiri had spied my camera and (under my very watchful gaze!) was taking his first shots...... :)  I asked if I could take one of him and dad and they were both very happy.  I've promised to email it to them once I get a regular signal.  As they drove off I heard Rawiri shouting 'Byeeeee' through his window and saw his wee hand waving eagerly back to me.

This kind of exchange continued to happen a few more times in the village.  2 more youngsters in the shop over the road, a family enjoying a swim from the wharf, some people who were photographing inside a derelict building the same time I was.  Even those  I had no exchange with as such, just passing along the rnoad, almost all acknowledged me with a nod or a wave.  Such gorgeous, friendly people.  Add to that [another!] stunning beach and I think I can say, Tokomaru has stolen my
heart.  Might have to check the jobs vacant to see if Toko school (roll 35 or 36 according to the 2 youngsters in the shop) needs a teacher for a while.

On a slightly different note, the wharf at Tokomaru is almost definitnley the one I remembered from all those years ago.  The sad part is that, unlike its Tolaga Bay cousin, this one has fallen into gross disrepair and appears not to be in line for a costly upgrade.  There is a sign at the entrance to the wharf warning people to proceed at their own risk.  Maximum 15 people at any one time.  No-one seemed to be taking much notice of it.  I could go on but instead, I'll go to bed.

A great day - yes, a truly great day.

I feel very blessed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.