The second half of life..

By twigs

The Far East

Day began in what has become my usual way - slowly with a good coffee and a good breakfast.  I noticed though that by the time I had my coffee ready the campers from 'next door' were already in their wetsuits and surfing the early morning waves!  That's keen :)

My travels today took me almost to the East Cape.  I say almost because I've stopped at a wee 'camping ground' about 4 or 5 kms from the actual Cape.  Well, it's actually a paddock adjacent to the beach and the camp 'caretaker' is an honesty box.  I love these wild and wooly back-block spots.  Running water (don't drink it); a loo with a view (hole in the ground with a corrugated tin surround for privacy and protection from the elements); a somewhat derelict shed (in case you need shelter from what, I imagine, could be some terrible weather); a paddock the size of a small farmlet with oodles of choice for a camping spot and every camping spot guaranteed a stunning view across the wild and weathered beach.  Pretty good for $6 I think.  (If you look large you might be able to make out some vehicles around the bush near the centre of the image.....that's the camping ground.)

On my way to this spot I also popped in to Ruatoria for a look-see.  I actually drove through it thinking the main drag must be further on......a helpful local put me right with a big laugh and a big smile.  Of course, I had to savour a real mccoy Ruatoria Pie whilst I was there.  Pretty good.  And, as though by way of proving I was in Ruatoria, a young guy rode past on his horse!  On to Te Araroa, New Zealand's most easterly settlement and also the home to New Zealand's (and possibly the world's) largest pohutukawa tree.  Aged maybe 350-odd years, it graces the grounds of the local school and it really is quite some tree.  I loved a sign I saw in the settlement:  'Children's playground.  No horses'.  Yup - the far east really is pretty wild land wooly!

Up early tomorrow in anticipation of a glorious sunrise at the East Cape lighthouse.  Well, that's the plan!

G'night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.