Texann Times

By Texann

Anyone for tennis?

This is my entry for Mono Monday challenge: Hobby.


For the past twenty years, until recently, L and I played tennis several times a week, almost year round.  Most of our greatest friends here have come from playing the game, so we're huge fans for many reasons.
 

I knew that tennis balls used to be white so, since I’ve changed this one from its bright yellow, I thought I’d look it up.  Apparently, tennis balls were either black or white, depending on the background colour of the courts.  In 1972 the ITF introduced yellow tennis balls into the rules of tennis, as research had shown these balls to be more visible to television viewers – I have to say that they’re a LOT more visible to the more mature player as well!  Wimbledon continued to use white balls until finally adopting yellow balls in 1986.

Thank you for Skeena hosting this challenge!


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.