eyesee

By davidc

What is it...?!

Here's a little challenge - can you work out what this is? (I thought it was rather pretty.)

I'll tell you that it has been cropped, and contrast, brightness & saturation have been enhanced. But otherwise it's as it came out of the camera.

I'll post the answer tomorrow :)

PS added 31 Dec: Thanks to everyone who had a go - and well done to those who said it was the bottom of a saucepan!

I'm not sure what caused the effect - presumably something we've cooked in it has left a very thin residual layer on the metal. I guess these are interference effects, like you get when oil floats on water, with a reflection from the surface of the layer interfering with the reflection from the pan itself. So I guess the layer must be similar in thickness to the wavelength of light (400-700nm). The pan has already been carefully washed - it'll be interesting to see what happens when something else is cooked in it.

PPS Just to make it clear, this is the interior of the pan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.