eyesee

By davidc

Mono-Monday - "Hobby" - Computers - Motherboard

"Hobby" is a great topic for Mono-Monday (thanks Skeena!) - except that I'm lucky to have so many hobbies that I had difficulty choosing. Photography's the obvious one of course but I decided to blip something different.

I've always liked computers. When I was about 10 (a little over 50 years ago!) I remember making a "dial adder" from cardboard & matchsticks, using instructions in a book or magazine. It had 3 discs marked off in 10 segments (each with a dial hole) to represent 100s, 10s and units. The discs were mounted in a row, and each had one matchstick sticking out radially. For every revolution of the units dial, the matchstick flicked the 10s dial round 1/10 of a revolution, and similarly for the 10s and 100s dials. It worked! Regretably it fell apart in time so I can't blip that today.

When computers came along I had a BBC Micro (in fact I still have it, and it still works 31 years on although I did recently have to repair the power supply) then went on to building my own PCs. I'm sure lots of blippers also do this; it means you can get exactly the spec you want, and on the (rare!) occasion that it goes wrong you have some idea how to fix it. And, of course, computers [or modern phones!] are essential for editing one's blips!

This motherboard is from a PC my son & I built 6 years ago. Recently it became unreliable (and it wasn't powerful enough for his latest games) so we upgraded it. It seemed a good blipidea for today.

(This is actually the second time I've blipped a motherboard, but the last one was rather different - see here.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.