The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Last sunset of the year?

Perhaps my last sunset of 2014.  The view from Jack Scout deep into Morecambe Bay.  One of the advantages of this time of the year is that it's possible to watch the sunset and get back to Wolf House for a cup of tea and a cake before they close.  Though today, the first time ever, there was not a single cake left in the place.  Perhaps given the seasonal indulgences of the last week that was not a bad thing.

We had visitors in the morning: Birdie Ronnie, Carolyn and Arnside Simon, while Wifie made a fresh batch of mince pies.  A very good morning.

I've missed blipping this last couple of days since Gus's two year blip, and I haven't had chance to say thank you to all the kind words, stars and hearts that were sprinkled on him.  I'm sure he's blushing under his black and white coat.

Two days ago we travelled to Derby and back to catch up with my sister and family, and to see my Dad.  He's quite frail and short on energy, though there was a glint in his eye, and he and I did have a good giggle despite certain indignities that I tried to help him with.  Ed and Anna have taken him home to Southampton today, and the big test is how he manages from now on.  Jan has organised a lot of care for him, but there is only so much that can be done without 24 hour support in the home.

There's another photo of the Bay here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.