The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Two years

Two years and two weeks ago I came home from work, and Wifie said "I think I've found my Christmas present".  She showed me a picture taken on her old Nokia phone of a collie dog with a split black and white face.  Gus had found her as she was walking over Arnside Knott, he sat down and leaned against her leg and looked up into her face.  That was it.  The people he was with were despondent as they had been trying unsuccessfully to find a new home for him and his brother.  Wifie made a pretence of trying to find him a place with friends and family, but no-one was interested.  

Two years ago today, he arrived to start his new life with us.  We were all blessed that day.  I was never really interested in having a dog, I had always had a cat, and we still had our Bob cat at that time.  But this gentle, loving creature totally won me over.  He has enriched our lives immeasurably, we love him dearly.

It could only be a Gus blip today.  Here he is sat on the top of Arnside Knott, just as the sun was rising over the horizon (and is reflected in his right eye).  It has been a day of beautiful light.  Eduardo and Tom arrived at lunchtime, and after a quick meal we did a circuit of the headland, with Morecambe Bay full of water, calm and reflecting.  A classic winter's day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.