The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Christmas chorister

My garden robin is an elusive bird, not as confiding as his predecessors have been. Maybe that's because we haven't fed the birds since a neighbour's cat started staking out the feeders a year ago (though we are trying again now).

The sweet song of the robin is a feature of the winter days when most other birds are silent but for contact calls.  A few weeks ago, a song thrush was singing each morning in the dawn redwood.  At the same time, on the Knott there were at least 5 more birds singing along our usual circuit.  But they are all silent again now, I don't know what prompted that brief flourish of winter song.  Yesterday on top of the Knott, I heard a great spotted woodpecker drumming, in Redhills Wood treecreepers have been singing.  Perhaps it's the mild winter.

ps This is entry 1300, it seems like an awfully long time since my last official blipstone, and it will be a long wait yet for the next one.  So many of my blip contemporaries have left me way behind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.