Skyroad

By Skyroad

Haunts

Pigeon House Road, as usual,  is full of surprises. As soon as I turned off the roundabout I saw this. No one about, as before, and no sign of activity in the one caravan nearby. There were about six caravans there, as well as a number of cars/vans, up till fairly recently but all the others appear to have moved (or been moved) on. 

I met one of the travellers here some months ago, when I stopped to take some shots. I told him I knew a middleaged couple, Billy and Mary, whose caravan used to be parked just around the corner, near the Hammond Lane/scrap metal dock. He knew them too (I think he said they were relatives). They've been gone for years and he told me they they'd both died since I last saw them. I mentioned them, and another traveller family, in a poem that was published recently on the Morning Star web page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.