Skyroad

By Skyroad

New Year's Back Alley

But a through-way rather than a dead end. 

I had thought of going down among the revelers but... why? Instead I called Fiachra and picked him up on Amiens street, and we did a recce to see if we could find something interesting. But we skirted the booked-out, gridlocked College Green shenanigans. A pleasant wee canter around the not-quite-centre of the city, which was quiet enough. I left him at P's place, off Amiens Street, then drove back to a glass or two of bubbly with my wife; and the wean successfully fought off tiredness to stay up and clink glasses watching the London fireworks (no live feed from Dublin): great splashes of momentary paint on the night's wall, to the sound of the popping of layers of gigantic bubble-wrap.  

And that's it: I have completed one full year of continuous blips, for the first time since I joined in 2007. Happy New Year guys, and may it go down sweetly. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.