Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Rule of Three

Look - I'm back on blipfoto again! That's twice in one month! 
We've had the most rubbishest Internet connection for the last few weeks and I haven't been able to do much of anything, but apparently BT say they are making it a bit better for us (not sure whether to hold my breath or not...) 
This photo took about 5 minutes to upload (quicker than it has been) and I'm not sure I can be bothered to wait that long - or longer every time. 

Richard should have worked today really. He got a message this morning to say someone was feeling unwell and wouldn't be able to work, and usually he would have worked for them instead, but we'd made plans so he simply left the shop closed today. And then he spent the whole day with an 'I should have opened the shop today' face. He got through it though and I'm, proud of him! :D

We had a nice walk in the sun, and even though it's still another day until the end of the year and a long time until winter bogs off, I felt a real sense of new beginnings. The ewes in the fields were fat and heavy, and I found myself thinking of lambs and snowdrops. 

When the moon, the sheep and the birds plonked themselves directly in front of me so obligingly I gratefully took this photo and was happy. 

This time of year is a metaphor for life: I know there will probably be snow and ice and dark cold days still; the worst of winter is probably yet to come, but there are days of full sun, lambs to be born and snowdrops beginning to cut through the turf and that mixed aching of beauty and pain that only winter can bring is rather powerful. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.