Simply Me

By Suze981

Torchlight

The torchlit procession marks the beginning of Edinburgh's Hogmanay festivities.

About 8000 torchbearers (including me, Mam and Ian) and 20,000 spectators processed through central Edinburgh tonight - led by the Up Helly Aa Vikings from Shetland and more than 100 pipers.

We started on George IV Bridge and ended on Calton Hill with a stunning fireworks display accompanied by Adele's Skyfall.

It was a lovely experience and great to be a part of it. I didn't particularly enjoy the crowds though and at times I was a little concerned about my hair being singed by a wayward torch. Fortunately my hair remains intact.

I'm now home, I've had a wonderful Christmas with the family, but there's no place like home :)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.