Pink Bicycle Girl

By angelahen

New complementing old

Had a day with no internet or telly today - so blipping this the day after. How weird it is not to have the internet all day - i was a bit lost - but far more productive!!

Last night Mr PB and I went to London to a gig - Lower Dens. We had a fantastic time. travelled down on the Flying Scotsman - almost a blip, just because I like it. I was last at Kings Cross in December and the changes since then are amazing. My Blip is of the new concourse which is adjacent to platform 8. I have a soft spot of Kings Cross as my mum used to work there in the offices and got me my first job there - making sandwiches. Great fun :)

The work that has been done is very sympathetic - combining new and old really well - well I think so. I love that the roof of the platforms is glass as it makes the station so much lighter and airy. Through large windows you can see adjacent buildings which again is mixing up the old and new. What is the current concourse will be demolished after the Olympics and we will have the original entrance to the station once more.

The gig was great, musically the band were amazing. The venue was really cool too. Great american beer. Had to be great at nearly a fiver a pint!! But that's London for you and I love it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.