Good Year?

I was hoping there would be a spectacular hoar frost for my last visit of the year to the nature reserve, but it was dull and un-spectacular. However, I rediscovered this old tractor tyre that's been languishing in the middle of the wood for about 30 years...and there, staring me in the face, was the message for today (though it should have had a question mark).

So, has it been a good year? The rest of my walk was spent weighing this up. On the one hand we lost our lovely cat, both had accidents, spent time in hospital and battled with the insurance company. On the other hand there were brilliant trips to South Africa, Armenia, Suffolk and Silverdale, a new grand-daughter, kids all doing exciting new things, my first year recording moths, a fantastic summer at the reserve for flowers and insects, etc, etc. All in all, I think it's been a good year...and tomorrow it starts all over again! Happy New Year everyone!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.