Inverculain

By Inverculain

And day is fading West awa'

I went to Prospect park this afternoon, hoping to catch the last sunset of the year. Thanks to the cloud cover there was nothing spectacular to see, so instead I tried to capture the last colour in the sky for 2014.

Thank you all for your support, encouragement and inspiration throughout the year. I wish you all the very best for 2015!


The year is wearing to the wane,
And day is fading West awa';
Loud raves the torrent and the rain,
And dark the cloud comes down the shaw;
But let the tempest tout an' blaw
Upon his loudest winter horn,
Good night, and joy be wi' you a';
We'll maybe meet again the morn!
 
O, we hae wandered far and wide,
O'er Scotia's hills, o'er firth and fell,
And mony a simple flower we've cull'd,
And trimmed them wi' the heather bell!
We've ranged the dingle and the dell,
The hamlet and the baron's ha';
Now let us take a kind farewell, -
Good night, and joy be wi' you a'!
 
Though I was wayward, you were kind,
And sorrowed when I went astray;
For oh, my strains were often wild
As winds upon a winter day.
If e'er I led you from the way,
Forgie your Minstrel aince for a';
A tear falls wi' his parting lay, -
Good night, and joy be wi' you a'!

          James Hogg, 1770-1835

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.