No Camera Allowed

I spent much of the early part of the day waiting... no cameras allowed and probably just as well... when I emerged into the day it was dreich and cold not a day I could face walking.

Today I have an old photo, old in so far as it was taken a lifetime ago, before I was even born but new to me.  Through the power of social media someone who grew up in our little village but who now calls Hawaii home sent me the photo thinking I would like it, how could I fail too...

The older couple here are my maternal grandparents, many of you who have shared my journey will know how I adored them, the girl, their neighbour way back then who now lives half a world away but who too had a great affection for my grandparents.  For someone who has taken photographs all my life I have very few photographs of these beautiful people which makes me very sad but I can see them in my mind's eye as clearly as is they were in the room with me.

My "papa" was my hero, he had a profound affect on me and it is because of him, in the main, that I am the person I am today.  I think of him every day but today maybe more so as today he would have been 98 years old.

As you gather with friends and family at the closing of another year I am sure a lot of you will raise a glass to absent friends but as you do please take time to appreciate those you love and those who love you for without them we are nobody....

Peace, Love, Health and Happiness

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.