At the Closing of the Day

Tonight I open with an unfinished lyric, the melody complete… For a friend

At the closing of the day and the turning of the year
We look to the ones we love and they help remove our fear
We took the road less travelled along our healing road
We walked the quiet walk breeze gentle on our face
Hand in hand forever to share that special place


Today marks the end of a year, a long year, a year of challenges, a year of loss, a year of love. It has been a long road, with many twists and turns, a healing road, a road less travelled sometimes lonely but never alone. I have taken inspiration from my friend to do better every day to challenge myself and together, every day in every way we are a little stronger and I do not have the words to express my gratitude for that inspiration.

The journey ended for some, friends lost but never forgotten and tonight like every other night we remember them, the times we shared, the gigs, the music the parties history now but memories treasured.

I hope wherever you are tonight you are surrounded by love, surrounded by the ones you share that love with, to you all, peace and love, health and happiness for this new year, the shot seems inconsequential today but for those that stop by I hope you enjoy this view of our river, fitting that she should sparkle today like a beacon for tomorrow….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.