Last of the Winter Berrys

I always remember as a child being told that if the trees that carried berries, like the Rowans were heavy with berries it was mother natures way of signalling to her creatures that it was to be a long hard winter. So it appeared this year the threes were laden with berries, branches bowed under the weight they carried.

I was reflecting how as a child the snows came and seemed to last all winter long, banked high at the side of the roads and pavements, this year except of a brief flirtation there has not been much snow at all but the winds and rain have brutal the temperatures on the whole milder.

This lichen caught my eye nestled in the branches it appeared totally disenfranchised, alien against the skeleton of the tree. I shot it in colour, and did not like the results, the last few berries were starting to tun, blackening a stark contrast to the vibrant reds of the berries themselves. I liked the starkness of the branches agains the softness of the lichen, I liked the almost diffused view of our river in the background. Again not the shot I planned for today but one that is a little different but still brought me to our river again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.