Going_Far

By Going_Far

Day 3 - Back in Business

After the lack of enthusiasm to get out yesterday, I was determined to put more effort in and refused to let the cold stamp out this determination. It was absolutely freezing this morning and I was running on a very frosty surface all the way around the park.

I'm glad that I did it, although I still didn't go as far as I'd like to have done. My baseline should be 5k and this wasn't quite that far. I also wanted to throw in a couple of 10k to get used to more distance running. Especially as it's only a quarter of the marathon distance. I've done them before fairly regularly, so it's (hopefully) a case of muscle memory, even if it was quite a while ago now.

I'm torn between thinking of this as a practice week, and actually admonishing myself for not trying hard enough. On one hand I should really be pleased that I've managed to get myself out of bed early enough and actually gone out, but on the other, I'm very acutely aware that time is running out to get fit enough for China.

It also doesn't help that the stubborn side of my personality wants me to enter the Jurassic Coastal Challenge, three marathons in three days in March. It'd be massively difficult, but I like a challenge and the more people tell me that I can't do it, the more I want to do it. I haven't decided yet, but I'm leaning towards entering and giving it a go :)

I don't suppose I'll go out again tonight, but there's always a chance. It is New Year's Eve though. Not planning on doing much, going for a sensible quiet one, in line with my new training regime. Weirdly I don't feel all that guilty about it, seems like it's easier when you have a good reason to be focused.

Day 3 - 136 Days to go
Distance : 2 miles (9:52 per mile)
Comments : Back on track but it was harder today and I still didn't have time to go as far as I'd like. Pace is picking up from last time.
Weight : -2lbs, (3.6lbs total)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.