Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Blue Moon

 
A most distinctive butterfly, with its very large white spots with a blue hue, which give the creature its descriptive name of blue moon.
 
Not a particularly common butterfly at this location, but could not be described as endangered, just slightly out of range I would say. Opportunities to photograph are rare, no more than once a year, primarily because it is so flitty and shy. This image was shot from about five feet. Normally I would prefer to get a lot closer to my subjects.
 
Still, such a stunning and unusual creature deserves some Blip space.

That awful New Years disaster in Shanghai happened only 2.5 miles from my apartment. Had I not moved back to Bandung, I would not have been caught as I am not that kind of party reveler. But, I do have a lot of friends working in the city and wait with nervous anticipation to hear that they are all safe - so sad for all those families, ripped apart by this senseless tragedy.

And here we go - it's not Blipfoto any more, it is Polaroid Blipfoto - what a surprise - NOT!
 
Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.