Widgeons

We are home now after a wonderful visit with friends Chris and Jyl in Seattle. This morning after breakfast Chris, my brother Steve and I walked around Green Lake one last time before heading home. Steve and Chris zoomed off on a quick walk and I meandered behind after telling them to to on ahead at their own pace. They wanted to exercise and I wanted to take photographs. 

We saw this same flock (or whatever a group of Widgeons is known as) yesterday afternoon when they flew over us with the sun on their breasts. That was an amazing sight. I didn't get a photo because it all happened too quickly. But this morning I saw them all again and took quite a few photos. I knew what they were before seeing them closely because of their characteristic sound, a kind of high pitched whistling noise. 

I noticed a few red headed fellows and thought at first they were another species of duck. But looking closer I could see they looked very much like the other Widgeons and had to go check using google. Sure enough they are also Widgeons. They are Eurasian Widgeons and the green headed ones are American Widgeons. Cool to see them both together as I had never seen the red headed fellows before.

We had such a lovely time with Chris and Jyl. Last night they had a party and we met quite a few of their friends. What nifty people they all are. We had a delightful time talking together and listening as several played and sang jazzy songs. In fact many of us, including me, joined in. It was a great party.

We drove home this evening and got here around 8:00 pm. Tomorrow I have things to do and places to go so I'm going to say goodnight to all. No comments tonight I'm afraid. But I wish you all a great 2015.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.