The cork shortage

I heard about it on the internet some years ago.  So I started buying wine based on stoppage rather than grape, or price, or label attractiveness. 

I kept my corks in a pot at first.  Then in a bucket.  Then a shopping bag.  Then a box.  And then a bigger box. 

I encouraged my brother to save his corks, too (based on my internet knowledge).  So he did.  Then he got a bit fed up with it and gave me a bag of corks for Christmas last year. 

My 50 liter Rubbermaid container runneth over. 

I noodled on things to do with my rare corks.  I chucked a few in the fire (an emberish result at best).  I cut a few in half with a carpet knife and put them under pots on the deck (I had to sand the cork residue off the deck at the end of the summer).  I made a few cat toys (she got bits stuck under her tongue and pranced about like a mad thing til they were dislodged).  My cork grape wotsit has received an admiring glance or two.

I've done a bit of internet research tonite.  Seems there isn't actually a cork shortage.  Never has been.  The screw top is an economic issue!  Dear oh dear.

But look at me!  Two days in a row!  Surely there's a partially inflated balloon for that feat?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.