Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

My Word for the Year

Dear Diary,

For the last two years I have chosen a word to guide me through the year.  My first word, in 2013, was Pathways.  Last year, it was Thresholds.  This year my word is Immerse

I will be continuing my immersion in my Poetry of Place project at the pond of course and I am fully immersed in my genealogy research.  But I want immerse to guide me in every facet of my life.  To remind me to be fully and completely present in whatever I do.

For me, to be able to immerse oneself in even the ordinary aspects of daily life is a sign of a passionate soul and that is something I want to cultivate this year. 

I remember a story about St. Francis.  He was hoeing a field when a person stopped to talk to him.  The man asked, "Francis, what would you do if you learned that you were to die this day?"  Francis replied, "I would first finish hoeing this field."  Now that is someone who lives fully in the present moment!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.