Above St James

That got me thinking of my old grandad Chris, who was a bit of a hipster and always had the latest gear - like a Polaroid camera. My dad wasn't impressed with such flashiness. I'm sure he had a metal case like a cigarette box to whap them in while they developed. As you had to.
His garage also had the first Morris 1800 in Galloway, or probably the world as far as I was concerned. At that time (mid 60s) some people still garaged their cars up at the garage and would come and collect them if they were going for a drive to Dumfries or wherever. Mum's cousin Dod, a big rotund chain smoking character who was the barman at the Murray Arms and who also worked at the garage, would routinely take people's cars for a drive after as much as a wipe over with a chamois.
His favourite was some rich bloke's Humber Super Snipe. I still remember Dod gunning it as hard as he could, on the long straight above Gatehouse, pointing to the dial as it crept up to 100mph while I stood beside the driver's seat, enthralled. Those were the days, eh?
Anyway, back to 2015. The New Year's Day pie tackled at last! And now.. 39 Steps on TV. I may be enthralled. Here's to Dod.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.