Singing bowl

Yet again, I was fortunate to receive an invitation to a New Year Gathering at Allanton World Peace Sanctuary. Whenever I come away from this place, I feel like a better person, and I feel happy and hopeful. It was a lovely afternoon, with a meditation on the past year and looking ahead to the next. We walked the labyrinth in beautiful late afternoon sunshine, had a flag ceremony to send ripples of peace to all corners of the world, and sang a round with Ali Burns. After this there was tea and cake and it was hard to drag myself away.
I took a few photos but as soon as I set eyes upon this bowl, I knew hat it would be today's blip. It is one of seven made at Allanton in September as part of a special project. One bowl for each continent, sent on a journey of peace. As it was made, with each hammer of the metal, the maker repeated the phrase "May Peace Prevail on Earth". This is one of the most beautiful objects I have ever seen.. it just feels and sounds amazing.. it's difficult to put into words.
Instead, I will leave you with the quotation which Caroline copied out for each of us:
"When you pray for world peace, you deepen your connection to humanity and whether you are aware of it or not, you are generating waves of brilliant light to ripple through the Universe. " (Masahisa Goi)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.