Edinburgh Exchange 2014

By emarr

Farewell to Edinburgh!

My time in Edinburgh has quickly come to an end and now it's that sad time to not only say goodbye to this amazing city but to the many people I have met too.

Exchange has been an amazing experience and I would definitely recommend everyone and anyone to go apply! I've learnt to much about myself as a person: I've had to become more independent and look after myself for the first time in a country and city I have never been to before; I've become more confident in myself, always asking questions and searching for new things to do. 

As I look back on the things I've done during this 5month trip I realise that I have done so much. I've travelled most of Scotland, seen things many Scot's would probably dream of doing and did a spur of the moment trip to Dublin - something I wasn't expecting to do when I left Australia.

I've made some fantastic friends who I hope to keep in contact with and see again soon, in either Scotland or Australia. These friends were my flatmates, my travel buddies and class mates and all helped to make my exchange experience one to remember.

I'll admit there were ups and downs. Having to change to fit into a different university regime and marking criteria was difficult, especially when it was so different from home. Homesickness wasn't too bad, probably because I never had a spare moment to sit and think, I always made sure to be doing something - if I wasn't studying I would be out adventuring. I will admit though, after 4months of being away from home it did get to a stage where I'd had enough, I wanted a break and to have my own bed back... the wait to get back home was so short but seemed so far away, it was a torture. 

Apart from these rare moments of exasperation, my exchange experience has been a positive one and has affected my life in so many great ways. I now want to travel more, see more of Europe and catchup with the many friends I made over in the UK. Being more independent has shown me that I can look after myself no matter where I am in the world and being more confident has shown me that I shouldn't be worried to try things out of my comfort zone because, for all I know I might like it. 

Not many people choose to go to Scotland and I don't know why. Edinburgh is such an amazing, life-filled city no matter what time of year it is. There is always something to do and something to see; and if you get bored of the city (which I highly doubt) there are so many other things to see in and around Scotland. 

I'm definitively going to miss my friends, my flatmates, even my flat and my room! I'm going to miss doing the things that had become such a habit - grocery shopping, going into Edinburgh on weekends, going out on Thursday nights to Finnigans (an Irish pub in Edinburgh with live music), the Christmas markets, the food and the endless amounts of tea. 

Most of all I'm going to miss the city - my home away from home. There will forever be a spot for Edinburgh in my heart and I hope one day to be able to go back - either on a holiday or to work there. 

For now it's farewell but hopefully not for long. This experience has been amazing, something I never thought I would do but so glad I did. Until next time adventure friends! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.