Jewel

Yesterday we reached a maximum of 44.1 degree C which is roughly 112 degrees F.  It's hot in anyone's language.

And today isn't much better although they tell us a cool change will come through later in the afternoon/early evening.

We have bush fires raging not 50kms from where I am now, and to be honest that brings with a healthy dose of reality.

I love Blip, I truly do, but sometimes there are greater things happening out there, which puts this delightful website into second place.

I shall keep on blipping, because it's MY diary, MY photos, and I truly hope my Blip friends will do the same - but that's their decision, and there's not a lot I can do to influence them, nor would I want to.

In the meantime, I did go outside this morning, heat or no heat, because I wanted an image of my eryngium (Miss Willmot's Ghost) in the sun.  It's a bee magnet, but I hadn't seen anything on it other than honey bees until today. 

Just look at this little jewel.  It's a native halictid bee, a solitary species, and it glows green like an emerald.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.