“It’s All Up the Back of Your Leg!”

I like the way the shepherds purse seed heads sparkle in the low sunshine.

Today, at last, I put the layer of compost mulch in the greenhouse. I started early on a cool, gloomy morning. First the weeds had to be dealt with. Then I made shallow holes along the middle of each of the two pairs of rows and put in the bokashi compost I made last summer. My son filled buckets of bought compost from bags and handed them in to me, while I did the spreading. We applied six 40 litre bags.

Then we attacked the vegetable plot that had the greens I intended to be using about now, but they all bolted. My son removed them and cut them up. I dug them in along with the rest of the bokashi. This was a plot my son had worked with the electric tiller last spring. It was surprisingly easy to work.

I’m really thrilled to get these two big jobs done. On my own they would have taken me a week to do. Then my son went on to mow the lawns. He’s been a real treasure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.