LifeOfNay

By LifeOfNay

Forster Adventure - Horse Riding

My alarm screamed through the dark startling me at 4.30am this morning.  I angrily turned it off and threw it into the blankets.  Draggin myself out of bed I sleepily made my way down to the car, I drove home from my parents to pack up my belonging for a road trip down to Forster.  
Three hours later after a close micro sleep, a quick coffee stop, too many missed turns, some sunshine, some rain, some more sunshine, a kangaroo and plenty of police cars I finally made it to Coomba boat ramp.  I was met by a few friends on a dingy, some beautiful blue skies and a few mossy bites. 

We had planned to go paddle boarding at 1pm but after a seriously burnt hand, a flooded engine and an extra long grocery shopping trip we had to rebook.  Whilst a small group head to the shops, I was left on the boat with Bec & Lisa.  We decided to put two of us into a one man dingy, which barely stayed afloat and head to the ‘shallow water.’  Which was just a mirage, every time we got close, the sun would shine on a different part of the water showing the shallows.  It was like chasing a sandy rainbow, in a small plastic boat, with dodgy oars and slow moving jelly blubblers haunting us.  After going round in circles, fighting against the tide and freaking out over possible bull sharks in the water we finally decided to let the tide take us back to the house boat.  I jumped out first leaving Bec floating in the dingy, I turned around and grabbed the rubbery material with my sun block ridden hands and lifted straight in the air.  Causing Bec to slide off and head first into the cool water.  
Bec later decided to jump off the top of the house boat, moments before a giant blue jelly blubber came out from hiding under the boat.  

Horse riding was an amazing experience if you enjoy branches flapping in your face, mosquitoes eating your face, legs, arms, ears and ankles, the stench of maneour every five minutes, your horse stumbling on uneven ground causing you to have a mini heart attack and having to drive this tall four legged beast with a mind of it’s own.  Oh and a black and blue bottom by the end of it.  On a lighter note it was a fantastic experience being in control of such a strong beautiful animal.  You need confidence to guide it through the tracks and our great guides taught us to go, stop, turn, how to get on and off, also what commands to use.  
Some of the horses decided they didn’t want to do as they were told and I’m sure they were purposely walking us into the tree branches which kept smacking us in the face and dragging our feet back as the horses kept moving forwards.  The sound of their tails swooped behind sounding like a whip, trying to discourage the very determined, very hungry mosquitoes.  Which had a good suck on my eye, I was left with a decent sized lump under my eye and to the side, leaving me looking like I was in a punch up with a mossy, which I lost.

We ended the night with cold 60 second showers and covered in bite cream.  We sat on our technology and out of nowhere head a loud scream.  The twins ran out of the room after hearing ‘I’ve chopped my finger off!’ 
No fingers were lost in the making of this holiday, but the twins dad had stumbled backwards into the lake and sliced his finger open. 


All in all was a great day on the boat and horse riding.  Only a few injuries occurred: A blistered hand, sliced thumb, bottle brush allergic reaction, bruised back, bruised bottoms, grazed ankle, hand cuts and deadly attack of the hungry mosquitoes.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.