LifeOfNay

By LifeOfNay

Paddle boarding - Day two Forster

I woke up to the sound of the water gently rippling against the sides of the boat.  It was so peaceful.  The sun peeped through the small cabin windows telling me it was time to get up.  Bec and I sat at the back of the boat in our pajamas and cast our fishing lines.  I had to get her to put the bait on the first few times as I wasn’t keen on sticking a sharp hook through a dead, slimy, half frozen prawn.  I haven’t fished in about eight years and I had no idea what I was doing, but I learnt the very basics and it was so much fun!  Jess cooked us all some delicious bacon, sausages and eggs on some beautifully burnt toast.  We sat on the roof of the boat and enjoyed the calm scenery which surrounded.  

Paddle boarding was fantastic!  As long as your ok with dark water beneath you, boats driving past making ripples causing your board to wobble, oyster shells beneath where you can see the sand and the current constantly working against you.  
After hopping on the board for the first time my legs went completely stiff and my heart was in my throat.  
“What are the chances of falling off?” I asked the instructor.
“50/50... but if you don’t fall off we’ll throw you in when you get back!” 
I was first off and the current started to take me, I gently dipped the paddle in the water and tried to ease myself into it.  The others slowly followed and all I could hear was:
“Don’t push me!”
“Don’t push ME!”
“If you push me your coming in too!”
We did a lap around a small island in the middle of the lake, at one point we strayed off into some bush.  Trees towered over head causing us to squat to avoid being knocked into the shallow waters below where oysters covered the sand.  Luckily we didn’t see to many jelly blubbers around - or belly jubbers as they’ve been renamed! 


Bec and I decided to take the small tin dingy out and try fishing at a few different spots.  We were shown how to turn the motor on/off, anchor and throttle.  Bec took charge and we were slowly but surely off, first two spots we stopped at we had numerous problems.  The fishing rod wouldn’t cast out more than two metres away from the boat and sat on the top of the water, pretty sure we weren’t going to catch anything that way.  As we pulled away we wondered why the boat was lagging.
“Fuck, the anchor!” Twice we forgot.  
Jess paddled out to us in a small blow up dingy with an inflatable esky attached to a rope being dragged behind.  She brought Bec a drink and paddled off, now it was my turn to take the wheel... throttle stick? 
Third spot we stopped at was close to the trees and we caught two fish each within 20 minutes!  The weak rod bent under the weight and I struggled to reel in a 30 centimeter fish as it fought against the force.  Bec’s first fish caused her to forget about the rod whilst she tried to unhook it.  The pole went over board.   It hung on for dear life by balancing on one of the circles which guides the line to the end. 
We had a good view of Jess being dragged behind the dingy on a biscuit.  
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.