AviLove

By avilover

I think this is it.

I loaded up the site this morning and something dark happened.  A tiny change to the big change, that suddenly made all the recent nonsense make sense.  Blipfoto's been sold.  I feel like I should have realized it before but I didn't.  I feel like the ground has been swept out from under me.  Like the warm, cozy community I have invested in, at times genuinely relied on, has been given away, homogenized, and rebranded for profit.  I'm kind of gutted by the whole thing.  It's simply not what it was--not what I was in it for.  I'm afraid this is it for me, after 6 years and 800 some entries...I'm not here to share my moments under the context of a corporate platform. 

Sometimes I feel that I'm hopelessly plugged in.  I struggle often with putting down the phone, the camera, the laptop--turning away from the screens.  Blip encourages and allows us to document every day, but for everything in life, there is a time for it, and a time to let it go. 

For a few months now I've been feeling like it's time to simplify, time to unplug, at least for a little while.  I feel far away from myself, and willingly distracted from getting closer.  I just stare at screens and continue to feel lost.  In this haze I sometimes pop out and think:

Blow up yer T-V
Throw away your paper
Go to the country
Build you a home
Plant a little garden
Eat a lot of peaches
And try to find Jesus on your own

Put down the phone.  Blip is one of those things that makes it hard to walk away from the internet, with its opportunities to document and share each day with people from around the world.  But this change--this shift--of Blip makes it a little easier.

I wish the best for everyone!!  There are so many wonderful, warm people here, with so much talent and goodness in them.  I am sad to walk away from this community.  But it appears that it is the time for it.

Love, AviLove

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.