Falco columbarius

#1 - BlipBigYear 2014

After 5 years participating in Blip, I've decided to give myself an official challenge, one that's always unofficially been there, driving what I photograph and share here. My goal has always been to pass along my knowledge of the natural world, the aspects and inhabitants of which fascinate me. Over the years I've tried to see just how many species of birds (and more recently mammals, insects, plants, and whatever else!) I can blip.

In 2013 I blipped 119 distinct species of birds, both from New Zealand and the US. Eighty-eight of these birds were ones I'd never blipped before. This was by far my best year for sharing new birds, not to mention all the wildflowers, insects, and sunsets I was able to blip.

What drove me substantially this past year to seek out new birds was the BlipBigYear challenge. For me it externalized the goal I'd always had for this journal and pushed me further. So this year I'm going to challenge myself and see what I can come up with.

First up! A lovely lady Merlin having a morning stretch 'n scratch at Fay Slough Wildlife Area. Merlins are small falcons that range through North America and Eurasia. We only see them here in the lower 48 during winter: a welcome visitor of the season.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.