An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Bath Abbey - Wet!

So soggy!! 

I’m glad I did my Avon Valley Footpath walk yesterday and not today! One could have got wet simply by looking out of a closed window. Water in the sky, on the ground, big chunky rivers of it and then there was water in every bit of clothing, seeping through, however “waterproof”!

 I was able to get a lift to Bath. Only a fleeting one and after dark, so I was not able to get the Abbey at blue hour, like last time.The roads were fairly busy with traffic so the image is busy. But this is a vibrant city centre after all, not a sleepy village.

 To the eye, the floodlighting looks good and quite even, in its spread and coverage. The camera sensor sees the truth though and it ranged from burn-out to deep shadow and with colours ranging from pink (ambient city streetlamp glow) on the tower, to variations of green and yellow further down. So, I don’t mind admitting that I spent about half an hour, all told, on editing this.

And why shouldn’t I? It IS my time, after all. And wouldn’t an artist spend as much time as was needed, to get it right? I also had to correct the leaning-over-backwards distortion. After levelling out the density and colour in the Abbey, I desaturated that part, a little. But I still wanted  a strong and vivid city image, not a pasty palour of a picture.

Lens is Tamron SP 17-50mm f2.8. 5 secs at f11, iso 100. And yes, a tripod.

You might recall my Blip showing the Photoshoot I did of the car scheme and its members the other day. Well, the person who had asked me, has known me for a good while and seen many of my images. Whilst she was telling everyone how wonderful I (apparently) was, for them to gain their confidence no doubt, she must have said something about Photoshop and such.  The day after I had emailed the sample edit, I had a reply asking if I could remove the yellow road markings, as they were “a bit of a distraction”. So, cue the cloning tool and their wish was my command. I WAS paid after all. This new version has replaced the original Blip, if you want to see if I did a rubbish job, or not! 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.