Swim between the Flags

I ventured out to Elliott Heads again late this afternoon and went exploring. I stumbled across a whole new area that I had never seen before.  I believe it's usually a very safe swimming beach for children but this afternoon it was rough and the sea was really choppy.

I was intrigued to see that even as late as 5.30 in the afternoon, the surf lifesavers were still on duty.  They were patrolling the beach and making sure that anyone who was brave enough to swim were swimming between the flags.  As you can see the buoyancy apparatus and the surf board are there in readiness, just in case some one gets into trouble.

I even had a very nice lifesaver come up and enquire what I was photographing.  I told him that I was trying to practise my long exposures.  He looked at me with a bemused look on his face.  I tried to explain that Jen from Newcastle and Gitama from Brunz had given me some great tips  on what to do and it was very important that I use it before I lose it.  Next bad blue was to try and explain what a blip was.  I'm sure he'll dine out tonight on his story about the wacky blipper on the beach!! 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.